The Pendleton Heights 13th annual Homes Tour and Artist Market will be held Saturday, Dec. 7 from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Six beautiful homes will be on tour that show the grandeur and rich history of Kansas City’s oldest neighborhood.
Before touring the inside of the homes, guests can begin their journey at PH Coffee (2200 Lexington) to retrieve their tickets, grab a cup of hot coffee, and peruse the work of ten local artists.
This Queen Anne-style home was originally built in 1888 for Louis Krauthoff and features a curved, wrap-around porch, classically-inspired columns, a prominent tower with a conical roof, stained glass, and a hand-carved mantle imported from Imperial Russia.
The current owners are documenting their restoration work of the home on Instagram
This classical Queen Anne Victorian was built in 1888 for the family of former Missouri state treasurer and banker, Philip E. Chappell and is on the national and local historic registry.
Purchased in 1934 by Sicilian immigrants Joe and Mary Palazola, it has remained in the Palazola family for six generations.
The current owners have expanded the garden and landscaping and restored the interior to its Victorian beauty.
This Richardson Romanesque single-family structure was built in 1890 for jeweler Calvin B. Norton. During WWI, the home was converted into apartments.
After a series of renovations and remodels that stripped the home of many of its original features, the home was returned to a single-family layout but was never fully restored.
The current owners are finishing up an extensive renovation that includes a new roof, windows, hardwood flooring, kitchen, bathrooms, and bedrooms.
Built in 1890 for a rumored Union Pacific Railroad agent, this 2.5-story, post-Victorian style American Foursquare home was traditionally built for the era with three-layer brick walls.
After sitting vacant for years, the home was slated to be torn down, but was lovingly restored to its original glory.
This home still boasts the original formal staircase along with original pocket doors and was sold to its current owners in December of last year.
This 2.5-story Queen Anne was built in 1896 and was first home to William J. Dingman, a butcher at the City Market.
The brick home features flared eaves and original diamond fish-scale shingles..
After passing through a few owners, the home fell into the hands of the current owners in 2016 who have put lots of time and love into the home, honoring and preserving the historic character.
100 Garfield (Tiffany Castle)
Tiffany Castle, built in 1908 and 1909, was originally home to Dr. Flavel B. Tiffany and his wife Olive.
Dr. Tiffany commissioned architect Clifton B. Sloan to design the home in the English Medieval style.
The stone edifice was then home to six other owners before the current owners took over, renovating the bathrooms, kitchen, and putting in new paint and fresh landscaping.