April 23, 2014
KANSAS CITY, Missouri – The Kansas City, Mo., Neighborhoods and Housing Services Department wants to remind vacant property owners they must register their property at http://www.kcmo.gov/vacant by May 31, 2014. There is no cost to register vacant property.
Property owners must first register their property after it has been unoccupied for more than 90 days. Foreclosed property must be registered within 14 days and vacant property that changes owners must be re-registered within 30 days.
The city requires individuals to register their vacant property to help promote safer communities in Kansas City. Failure to register a vacant property may cause difficulties when police and code officials need to contact a responsible party about issues involving the vacant structure, especially code violations or crimes.
Residents are encouraged to report vacant properties by contacting the 3-1-1 call center or 816-513-1313. Failure to register vacant properties will result in the owner being fined $50 per month up to a maximum of $500. Unregistered vacant properties discovered by city officials may also receive an administrative fee of up to $200 for failure to register. Property owners who have not registered are actively being cited for failing to register their vacant property.