Election results announced for KCPS’ Board of Education

Northeast News
April 12, 2012

Three new board members were sworn in Wednesday, April 11, during the Kansas City Public Schools’ Board of Education meeting.

New board members include Jon Hile, Curtis Rogers and Marisol Montero. Airick West, who currently serves on the board, also secured a seat as a write-in candidate. Board members voted to have West continue his role as board president.

Sub-District 1 was the only district in which candidates filed to run for a seat on the school board. Incumbent Arthur Benson ran against Jon Hile, who secured 57 percent of the vote. Benson garnered 40.7 percent of the vote.

For the At-Large position, there were five write-in candidates, which included West, Rev. Sam Mann, Lyne’t Smith, H. Lon Swearingen and Jerry Sargent. West beat Mann 39 percent to 34 percent.

Sub-District 3 included write-in candidates incumbent Duane Kelley, Northeast resident Adam Schieber and Montero. Kelley garnered 33 percent of the vote while Montero received 37 percent. Schieber received 12 percent.

For Sub-District 5, there were four write-in candidates and Rogers walked away with 49 percent of the vote. Nia Webster received 24 percent of the vote and Candace Koba, 13 percent.

Comments are closed.

  • Zhand Appointed Prosecutor in Brooks Allegations

    13 hours ago

    Jackson County Prosecutor Jean Peters-Baker this afternoon announced that Platte County Prosecutor Eric Zhand will be appointed Special Prosecutor in […]

    Fire destroys pawn shop warehouse

    November 19th, 2014

    Michael Bushnell Northeast News Nov. 19, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri — The Kansas City Fire Department were called to an […]

    One dead after morning shooting outside City Hall

    November 12th, 2014

    Joe Jarosz Northeast News Nov. 12, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri — One man is dead after a early morning shooting […]

    Kessler Bark: Record breaking tree grows in HNE

    November 12th, 2014

      By Joe Jarosz Northeast News November 12, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri – The Northeast is now able to claim […]

    U.S. Navy Blue Angels to stop in Kansas City for preseason visit

    November 11th, 2014

    Northeast News Nov. 11, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri — The U.S. Navy Blue Angel representatives will visit Kansas City next week […]

  • KCMO to host hard to recycle items event on America Recycles Day

    November 10th, 2014

    Northeast News Nov. 10, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri — Are old televisions, mattresses, bicycles and other items taking up space […]

    City offices closed Nov. 11, 27 and 28; trash pickup delayed

    November 8th, 2014

    Northeast News Nov. 8, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri — City Hall wants you to know there will be a few […]

    Gov. Nixon announces summer jobs program for 1,500 low-income youth in Kansas City area

    November 7th, 2014

    Joe Jarosz Northeast News Nov. 14, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri — The lesson learned from earning a buck is something […]

    Jackson County gets four new faces for Legislature

    November 5th, 2014

    Joe Jarosz Northeast News Nov. 5, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri — Jackson County Democrats had nothing to worry about on […]

    Where is the streetcar headed? Update given at NEIA luncheon

    November 5th, 2014

    By Joe Jarosz Northeast News November 5, 2014 KANSAS CITY, Missouri – As more tracks get laid, more information becomes […]

  • Local Weather